This is the "Top Resources" page of the "ENGL 105: Critical Reading & Writing Skills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 105: Critical Reading & Writing Skills   Tags: english, law enforcement  

Locate books, journal articles and other electronic information related to English 105.
Last Updated: Apr 13, 2012 URL: http://libguides.jibc.ca/ENGL105 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Top Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.

phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca

Facebook Twitter



Go to Library website

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

All databases listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password for restricted databases


Database Search Tips

1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings: MEDIAT* will find MEDIATOR, MEDIATION OR MEDIATING

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: DIVORCE OR SEPARATION

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
First Search Box:  MEDIAT* AND
Second Search Box
:  DIVORCE OR SEPARATION

Video tutorials and search tips

  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    "Provides abstracts and indexing for over 4,300 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Over 3,400 of these journals are full text (the entire article online)."
  • CBCA Complete  
      
      Icon
    "CBCA Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. Information is available from a broad range of Canadian sources with the database containing over 4 million records."
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
    "Provides access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects. There are over 2600 journals in this directory of which over 750 journals are searchable at the article level."
  • e-Books  Icon
    "E-Books by netLibrary is a collection of more than 700 full text ebooks (electronic versions of printed books) covering most business and management topics."
  • Encyclopedia Britannica  Icon
    "An online version of one of the World's most comprehensive reference sources. EB Online includes the complete encyclopaedia in addition to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year."
  • ERIC  
      
      Icon
    "ERICĀ®, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources."
 

Books, DVDs, and more

Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.


Format:

Library Catalogue Search Tips

  • Use the $ symbol to find all endings of a word (e.g. VIOLEN$ will find VIOLENCE OR VIOLENT)
  • Use AND to narrow your search results (e.g. VIOLEN$ AND CHILD$)
  • Use OR to find more results (e.g. VIOLEN$ OR AGGRESS$)
  • If a URL shows up in a record, the full-text may be available online

Browse Titles by Subject

Browse the Library's print and audiovisual collection by subject.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list books and DVDs at the Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip