Skip to main content

ESMS-1100: Emergency & Security Legislation: Top Resources

Library Staff

JIBC Library's picture
JIBC Library
Contact:
715 McBride Blvd.
New Westminster, BC
V3L 5T4
604.528.5599
Website / Blog Page

Hours

Regular Library Hours:
 

Mon - Thurs 8 am - 8 pm

Friday  8 am - 5 pm

Saturday 9 am - 4 pm
 

 

 

 

 

 

Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Regular hours for AskAway: 
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm 
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Search Me!

In one FELL SWOOP, search most of the Library resources - book & DVD titles, online full-text journal articles, streaming media, eBooks, and more!!





Watch our Search Me video demo





Narrow your search to find articles only...

 


Find out if the JIBC Library has this journal...

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

All databases listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password for restricted databases. Icon


Database Search Tips

1. Use the at the end of a word to find all endings: 
e.g. LAW* will find LAW, LAWS OR LAWYER

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 
e.g. INVESTIGAT* OR ENFORCE*

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
e.g. First Search Box:  SECURITY AND 
Second Search Box
:  LAW* OR LEGISLATION

Video tutorials and search tips


  • BC Laws UNRESTRICTED
    Published by the Queen's Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Justice and the Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly. BC Laws has been upgraded to provide enhanced searching and more content including historical legislation and related publications such as BC Gazette, full text Orders-in-Council, and Tables of Legislative Changes.
  • Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Centre  Icon
    A comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR). This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to BC/DR.
  • CanLII UNRESTRICTED
    Canadian Legal Information Institute. This site contains law & legislation from across Canada.
  • Quicklaw  Icon
    Offers 2,300 databases of law and related information from Canada, the United States, and other countries. This collection includes caselaw, statutes, regulations, bills, and other materials including texts (e.g. Irwin Law titles) articles, newsletters, and press releases. Quicklaw Training Demos (Tutorials) and Cheat Sheets. Legislation updated immediately upon receipt of change.
  • U.S. Fire Administration Library UNRESTRICTED
  • More databases  Icon