Contact Us
Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.
phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca
Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time.
Normal hours for the AskAway service are:
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm
Articles
Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.
All databases listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty. If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password for restricted databases
Database Search Tips
1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings:
e.g. ABORIGIN* will find ABORIGINE, ABORIGINAL, OR ABORIGINALS
2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:
e.g. FIRST NATIONS OR ABORIGINAL
3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:
e.g. First Search Box: HEAL* AND
Second Search Box: FIRST NATIONS OR ABORIGIN* OR INDIGENOUS
Video tutorials and search tips
- Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 4,300 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Over 3,400 of these journals are full text (the entire article online). - Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend and literacy and contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. - ERIC
ERIC®, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. - First Nations Periodical IndexThis Index contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content and serves as a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. - More Databases
Books, DVDs, and more
Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.
Browse Titles by Subject
Browse the Library's print and audiovisual collection by subject.
Bibliographies
Bibliographies list books and DVDs at the Library.



Loading...
