LibGuides: Criminology: Top Resources

eBooks for Criminology

How to Access eBooks

If you find eBooks in the collection, follow this guide for how to access!

Articles and eBooks

Databases allow you to search for articles & ebooks from many different sources at the same time.

You will find many of these articles and ebooks through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search the databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

CRCnetBase (by Taylor & Francis Group) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text eBooks in the following subject areas:
• arson and homicide investigation
• biodefense
• crisis management and negotiation methods
• counterterrorism,
• detection of radioactive and radiological materials
• emergency preparedness
• emergency response and disaster planning
• expert witnessing
• forensic pathology
• research on next-generation security technologies
• transportation security

Databases formerly referred to as:
• Forensic and Law Enforcement NetBase
• Homeland Security NetBase
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (CJA) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts.
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

NOT discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
Thomson Reuters ProView This link opens in a new window
ProView is the way to read Thomson Reuters e-books, published primarily for the legal, accounting, human resources, and tax professions.
Online access is provided to the following titles, licensed by JIBC:
- Admissibility of Statements
- Canadian Criminal Code Offences
- Canadian Criminal Procedure
- Canadian Emergency Management and Response Manual: A Guide to the Law and Practice
- DNA: A Practical Guide
- Electronic Evidence in Canada
- The Law of Fraud and Related Offences
- Search and Seizure Law in Canada
- Visual Evidence
- Weapons Offences Manual
- Wiretapping and Other Electronic Surveillance: Law and Procedure

A-Z Database List more databases to choose from ...

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings:

e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:

e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:

For example:
- First Search Box: STATISTIC* AND
- Second Search Box: POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT"

Icon Legend:
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet

Browse Titles on Criminal Law

Browse the Library's print and audiovisual collection by subject.