Contact Us
Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.
phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca
Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time.
Normal hours for the AskAway service are:
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm
Articles, Legislation & Case Law
Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.
All online resources listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty. If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed databases.
1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings:
e.g. LAW* will find LAW, LAWS OR LAWYER
2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:
e.g. INVESTIGAT* OR ENFORCE*
3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:
e.g. First Search Box: CRIMNAL LAW* AND
Second Search Box: INVESTIGAT* OR ENFORCE*
Video tutorials and search tips
- CJPI: Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Indexes 150 journals covering a broad range of criminal justice issues. - QP LegalEze
Source to current B.C. legislation and regulations. - Quicklaw
Covers law and related information from Canada, the United States, and other countries. Includes full-text case law, statutes, regulations, bills, and more. Legislation is updated immediately upon receipt of change. - Quickscribe
Quickscribe includes full text access to all BC Statutes and Regulations as well as a growing list of key federal legislation including the Criminal Code of Canada, Divorce Act and Canadian Environmental Assessment Act to name a few. Legislation found on Quickscribe Online is updated daily. - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

- More Databases
Books, DVDs, and more
Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.
Browse Titles by Subject
Browse the Library's print and audiovisual collection by subject.
- Canada. Criminal Code
- Criminal evidence--Canada
- Criminal law
- Criminal law--Canada
- Criminal law--Canada--Cases
- Criminal procedure--Canada
- Drunk driving--Canada
- Juvenile justice, Administration of--Canada
- Obscenity (Law)
- Offenses against property
- Offenses against public safety
- Offenses against the environment
- Offenses against the person
- Searches and seizures--Canada
- Sentences (Criminal procedure)--Canada
Bibliographies
Bibliographies list books and DVDs at the Library.



Loading...
