This is the "Top Picks" page of the "Criminology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminology   Tags: criminology  

Locate books, DVDs, articles and other electronic information related to Criminology.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2012 URL: http://libguides.jibc.ca/criminology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Top Picks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.

phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca

Facebook Twitter



Go to Library website

 

Chat Help

AskAway - Library Help via Chat

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Normal hours for the AskAway service are:
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Articles & Legislation

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

All online resources listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed databases.


Database Search Tips

1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings: 
e.g. ARREST* will find ARREST, ARRESTS OR ARRESTING

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 
e.g. QUESTIONING OR INTERROGATING

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
e.g. First Search Box:  DELINQUEN* AND
Second Search Box
:  YOUTH OR TEEN* OR ADOLESCENT*

Video tutorials and search tips

  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text  Icon
    This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
  • Criminal Justice Periodical Index  Icon
    Indexes 150 journals covering a broad range of criminal justice issues. 44 of these journals are full text online.
  • Juristat
    Detailed stats and analysis on a variety of topics and issues concerning Canada's justice system. Annual Juristats are produced for: crime statistics, homicide, impaired driving, justice system resources and expenditures, youth court statistics, youth custody and probation and corrections statistics. Additional Juristats are also produced each year on current topics of interest to the justice community.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  Icon
    Covers the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice. Contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research. Topics covered within the database include corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice.
  • QPLegaleze  Icon
    "Subscription service to the current laws of British Columbia produced in partnership with the Ministry of Attorney General and Legislative Assembly." Source to current B.C. legislation and regulations.
  • More Databases
 

Books, DVDs, and more

Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.


Format:

Library Catalogue Search Tips

  • Use the $ symbol to find all endings of a word (e.g. VIOLEN$ will find VIOLENCE OR VIOLENT)
  • Use AND to narrow your search results (e.g. VIOLEN$ AND CHILD$)
  • Use OR to find more results (e.g. VIOLEN$ OR AGGRESS$)
  • If a URL shows up in a record, the full-text may be available online
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip