This is the "Top Resources" page of the "Fire Officers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fire Officers   Tags: fire, fire officers  

Locate books, DVDs, journal articles and other electronic information related to Fire & Safety.
Last Updated: Apr 13, 2012 URL: http://libguides.jibc.ca/fire Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Top Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.

phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca

Facebook Twitter



Go to Library website

 

Chat Help

AskAway - Library Help via Chat

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Normal hours for the AskAway service are:
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

All databases listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password for restricted databases


Database Search Tips

1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings: 
e.g. FIRE* will find FIRE, FIRES OR FIREFIGHTER

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 
e.g. FIRESTARTING OR ARSON

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
e.g. First Search Box:  FIRE* AND
Second Search Box
:  YOUTH OR TEEN* OR ADOLESCENT*

Video tutorials and search tips

  • British Columbia Building Code  Icon
    Provides full text access to the 2006 BC Building Code. The Code is based on the model 2005 National Fire Code of Canada. The code sets out technical provisions for the design and construction of new buildings. It also applies to the alteration, change of use and demolition of existing buildings.
  • British Columbia Fire Code  Icon
    Provides full text access to the 2006 BC Fire Code. The Code is a regulation of the Fire Services Act, and is based on the model 2005 National Fire Code of Canada. The Code sets out technical provisions regulating: activities related to the construction, use or demolition of buildings & facilities. It also covers the design or construction of specific elements of facilities related to certain hazards; and protection measures for current or intended use of buildings.
  • Fire Articles Index UNRESTRICTED
    Provides abstracts and indexing for over 32,000 recent journal articles, updated quarterly. Compiled by the Library of the New York State Academy of Fire Science. Many articles are available online, or, in-print at the JIBC Library.
  • FIREINF  Icon
    FIREINF consists of 15 bibliographic databases (including the US National Institute for Safety and Health - NIOSHTIC and NIOSHTIC-2) relevant to the fire industry covering subject areas such as: fire, health, safety and the fire environment. FIREINF has over 522,000 records to journal articles, guidance and advice, circulars, reports, conference proceedings, research reports, statistics and codes of practice from worldwide sources, all of which may be easily accessed.
  • Learning Resource Center UNRESTRICTED
    The LRC is the library for the National Fire Academy (NFA) and the Emergency Management Institute (EMI). The LRC Catalog identifies resources on fire service and emergency management topics.
  • NFPA Fire Codes  Icon
    Access to NFPA Codes & Standards.
  • NFPA 1600, 2007 ed.
    Standard on disaster/emergency management and business continuity programs.
  • More databases
 

Books, DVDs, and more

Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.


Format:

Library Catalogue Search Tips

  • Use the $ symbol to find all endings of a word (e.g. VIOLEN$ will find VIOLENCE OR VIOLENT)
  • Use AND to narrow your search results (e.g. VIOLEN$ AND CHILD$)
  • Use OR to find more results (e.g. VIOLEN$ OR AGGRESS$)
  • If a URL shows up in a record, the full-text may be available online
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip