This is the "Top Resources" page of the "LESD 201: Investigative Skills & Procedures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LESD 201: Investigative Skills & Procedures   Tags: investigation, law enforcement  

Locate books, DVDs, journal articles and other electronic information related to LESD 201: Introduction to Investigative Skills and Procedures.
Last Updated: Apr 13, 2012 URL: http://libguides.jibc.ca/investigation Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Top Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Contact the Library for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help if you are having difficulties or don't know where to start.

phone: 604.528.5599
email: library@jibc.ca

Facebook Twitter



Go to Library website

 

Chat Help

AskAway - Library Help via Chat

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Normal hours for the AskAway service are:
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

All databases listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password for restricted databases


Database Search Tips

1. Use the * at the end of a word to find all endings: 
e.g. ARREST* will find ARREST, ARRESTS OR ARRESTING

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 
e.g. QUESTIONING OR INTERROGATION

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
e.g. First Search Box:  DELINQUEN* AND
Second Search Box
:  YOUTH OR TEEN* OR ADOLESCENT*

Video tutorials and search tips

  • PsycINFO  Icon
    "Covers psychology, psychiatry, and related fields such as medicine, pharmacology, sociology, education, nursing, law, and more. Indexes approx. 2,000 journals. Contains nearly 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and more. Index journal coverage goes back to 1887. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985. "
  • SocINDEX with Full-Text  Icon
    "SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others."
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  Icon
    Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
  • Criminal Justice Periodical Index  Icon
    Indexes 150 journals covering a broad range of criminal justice issues. 44 of these journals are full text (the entire article online).
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  Icon
    Provides users with information thoroughly covering the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice. The database contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research. It also includes content from 189 journals, including 12 with core coverage. Content dates range from 1970 to the present. Topics covered within the database include corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justi
  • More databases
 

Books, DVDs, and more

Search the Library for books, DVDs, and more.


Format:

Library Catalogue Search Tips

  • Use the $ symbol to find all endings of a word (e.g. VIOLEN$ will find VIOLENCE OR VIOLENT)
  • Use AND to narrow your search results (e.g. VIOLEN$ AND CHILD$)
  • Use OR to find more results (e.g. VIOLEN$ OR AGGRESS$)
  • If a URL shows up in a record, the full-text may be available online
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip