Skip to main content

Law and Legislation: Home

Library Staff

JIBC Library's picture
JIBC Library
Contact:
715 McBride Blvd.
New Westminster, BC
V3L 5T4
604.528.5599
Website / Blog Page

Hours

Regular Library Hours:
 

Mon - Thurs 8 am - 8 pm

Friday  8 am - 5 pm

Saturday 9 am - 4 pm
 

 

 

 

 

 

Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Regular hours for AskAway: 
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm 
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Search Me!

In one FELL SWOOP, search most of the Library resources - book & DVD titles, online full-text journal articles, streaming media, eBooks, and more!!





Watch our Search Me video demo





Narrow your search to find articles only...

 


Find out if the JIBC Library has this journal...

Legal Databases

The Icon indicates a licensed e-Resource.  Off-campus access is available to JIBC faculty/staff and students. Please contact the Library for a Username and Password.

Other resources listed here are freely accessible to all.


  • BC Laws
    Published by the Queen's Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Justice and the Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly. BC Laws has been upgraded to provide enhanced searching and more content including historical legislation and related publications such as BC Gazette, full text Orders-in-Council, and Tables of Legislative Changes.
     
  • CANLII
    CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) is a free source of Canadian primary legal material. Here you can find statutes, regulations and case law
     
  • Quicklaw  Icon
    Lexis Advance Quicklaw replaces the classic Quicklaw providing an intuitive single-search interface with expanded delivery options to more than 2,300 databases of law and related information from Canada, the United States, and other countries. This collection includes caselaw, statutes, regulations, bills, and other materials including texts (e.g. Irwin Law titles), articles, newsletters, and press releases. Visit the Lexis Advance Quicklaw User Guide or Overview (YouTube) for information on this new interface.
    Prefer classic Quicklaw? When Terms of Use displays, click Accept

  • Quickscribe  Icon
    Full text access to all BC Statutes and Regulations as well as a list of key federal legislation including the Criminal Code of Canada, Divorce Act and Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. Users may also access Orders in Councils, Bills, repealed laws, point-in-time archived legislation and other "related" industry-specific documents. Offers RSS feeds to provide you with instant notification of new amendments to relevant legislation in your research area. Legislation is updated daily.

  • Thomson Reuters ProView Icon

    Full-text online access to the following titles:

  • Admissibility of Statements, Ninth Edition
  • Breathalyzer Law in Canada: The Prosecution and Defence of Drinking and Driving Offences, 4th Edition
  • Canadian Criminal Code Offences
  • Canadian Criminal Procedure, Sixth Edition
  • Canadian Emergency Management and Response Manual: A Guide to the Law and Practice
  • Criminal Code Driving Offences: A Companion Text for Breathalyzer Law In Canada
  • DNA: A Practical Guide
  • Electronic Evidence in Canada 
  • Search and Seizure Law in Canada
  • The Law of Fraud and Related Offences
  • Weapons Offences Manual
  • Wiretapping and Other Electronic Surveillance: Law and Procedure
 

Web Links

Try some of these FREELY ACCESSIBLE resources for more great information

Evaluating Websites

Legislation Basics

Legislation Basics

Legislation includes laws, also referred to as acts or statutes, that are passed by either the federal parliament or a provincial legislative, and regulations, sometimes called secondary or delegated legislation. Regulations are made under the authority of a 'parent' act, and there may be several sets of regulations under one act.

Read How a Government Bill becomes Law in Canada


Some Definitions

Legislation = Written and approved laws. Also known as statutes, or acts.

Bill = A proposed statute, not yet approved.

Act = A bill which has passed through the various legislative steps required for it and which has become law. Also known as a statute.

Statutes = Statutes are laws that are passed by the legislature - federal or provincial/territorial.

Regulations = Rules made pursuant to a statute and known as subordinate legislation. Regulations always have an enabling statute; that is, a statute under which the regulations were made and operate.

See Irwin Law's Canadian Online Legal Dictionary for more legal terms and definitions.

What are Regulations?

Certain statutes enable federal or provincial executive agencies to create rules and regulations to govern various areas. These rules and regulations, together with other subordinate legislation, such as orders and municipal by-laws, may be referred to as regulations or statutory instruments.

Public or Private?

Laws or statutes (and bills) are considered "public" if the law is a law that applies to everyone, i.e. the Criminal Code.

Laws can also be "private", meaning they apply to a specific person, place, or corporation, i.e. in some provinces, a hospital or a university may have its own piece of legislation.

Generally, legislation passed in a year is published in a statute volume, with the acts being numbered sequentially 1,2,3 as chapters. The public statutes are typically first, and any private statute is later in the volume.