Skip to main content

Research Methods: Home

Library Staff

JIBC Library's picture
JIBC Library
Contact:
715 McBride Blvd.
New Westminster, BC
V3L 5T4
604.528.5599
Website / Blog Page

Hours

Regular Library Hours:
 

Mon - Thurs 8 am - 8 pm

Friday  8 am - 5 pm

Saturday 9 am - 4 pm
 

 

 

 

 

 

Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Regular hours for AskAway: 
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm 
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Search Me!

In one FELL SWOOP, search most of the Library resources - book & DVD titles, online full-text journal articles, streaming media, eBooks, and more!!





Watch our Search Me video demo





Narrow your search to find articles only...

 


Find out if the JIBC Library has this journal...

Statistical Information

Great resources for statistical information.

  • Juristat
    This ejournal provides detailed statistics and analysis on a variety of topics and issues concerning Canada's justice system. Annual Juristats are produced for: crime statistics, homicide, impaired driving, justice system resources and expenditures, youth court statistics, youth custody and probation and corrections statistics. Additional Juristats are also produced each year on current topics of interest to the justice community.
  • Crime & Police Resource Statistics (B.C.)
    Policing and Security Branch produces publications and statistical reports about a range of subjects, including emergency communications and crime reduction, community safety plans, road safety plans, guidelines, and crime and police resource statistics.

    It is also responsible for a variety of acts and regulations.

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

All online resources listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed databases 


Database Search Tips

1. Use the at the end of a word to find all endings: 
e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 
e.g. POLICE* OR LAW ENFORCEMENT

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
e.g. First Search Box:  STATISTIC* AND
Second Search Box:  POLICE* OR LAW ENFORCEMENT


JIBC Student Research Skills

JIBC Student Research Skills Development Framework

Some great information to help you become a better researcher!

Research Skills Tutorial

Try out the Research Skills Tutorial!

It is a Blackboard tutorial which takes you through the important steps of finding reliable information.

Contact us to sign-up!
library@jibc.ca

Canadian Data & Statistics

Bibliographies

Bibliographies lists books, DVDs & videos. 

Ethics

Research Methods

More Bibliographies
 

Evaluating Websites

Web Links

Reference
Includes links to style guides, dictionaries, encyclopedias, theses & dissertations, translation resources, directories & maps, people locators, & more.

Statistics
Includes links to U.S., international, and crime & justice statistics resources.