LibGuides: Substance Abuse: Top Resources

eBooks for Substance Abuse

How to Access eBooks
If you find eBooks in the collection, follow this guide for how to access!

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of nursing, allied health (including paramedic and pre-hospital care), consumer health, patient education information, and more.
How to Research a PICO Question Using the CINAHL Database (video)
Provides access to more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.CINAHL Complete also includes indexing for more than 5,000 journals, searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals, full text dating back to 1937, and more than 4 million records in total.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool written by a world-class team of physicians who consistently and systematically identify, select, evaluate, summarize, and synthesize the best available evidence.
The DynaMed editorial leadership team includes physicians with a wide range of specialties, including infectious diseases, paediatrics, internal medicine, neurology, and critical care.
Includes:
- Access to over 10,000 graphics and images
- Concise and actionable overviews and detailed recommendations
- Precise search and discoverability results
- Robust content for more than 24 specialties
- Drug content to help diagnosis with Micromedex Clinical Knowledge Suite
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
(Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains approximately 12 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Search using MeSH subject headings (UBC Videos)
Articles cover topics in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database and offers the full text for more than 1,370 of those journals indexed.
Articles cover topics in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

A-Z Database List more databases to choose from ...

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings:

e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:

e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:

For example:
- First Search Box: STATISTIC* AND
- Second Search Box: POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT"

Icon Legend:
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet
	eBook

Substance Abuse: Top Resources

eBooks for Substance Abuse

Articles

Browse Titles by Subject