RefWorks makes it easy to import resources from a variety of platforms, including library databases and Google Scholar. It's as simple as clicking 'Export to RefWorks'.
Review the sections below for steps to save items from different locations.
On this page:
When you've found a helpful article, book, or other resource in a library database, look for a button or tool labeled 'Export' or 'Export to RefWorks'. After selecting this option, a new page will appear asking you to confirm 'Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks'. By selecting this option, the database will automatically import the resource into your RefWorks account and save the citation for future use.
You can export either single items or save items to a database folder and export multiple citations at once.
1. Look for the 'Export' button on the library database (note: the screenshot below demonstrates the most popular database platform's 'export' button. If you are using a different database platform, the button may be in a different location or be labelled slightly different).
2. Select 'Direct Export to RefWorks' and Save.
3. Select 'Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks' to import the resource into your RefWorks account.
If conducting research on Google Scholar, look for the 'Cite' button located under an article on the Google Scholar search results page. When you click on 'Cite', a small window will appear with citation examples. Look for the 'RefWorks' button located at the bottom of the small screen. After selecting 'RefWorks', a new page will appear asking you to confirm 'Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks'. By selecting this option, the database will automatically import the resource into your RefWorks account and save the citation for future use.
1. Click on the 'Cite' button under an article.
2. On the pop-up window that appears after clicking 'Cite', click on the 'RefWorks' link at the bottom of the window.
3. Select 'Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks' to import the resource into your RefWorks account.
When you have documents of PDFs saved on your computer, for example a class reading or article provided by your instructor, you can upload these items directly to RefWorks.
Simply click on the 'Add' button on the homepage of RefWorks and upload the item from your computer. Depending on the type of document, RefWorks will automatically fill in available citation information.
1. Click the 'Add' button on your RefWorks account.
