LibGuides: Indigenous Resources: Top Resources

AlterNative

AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.

Set up Alerts to receive an email whenever new articles are published to AlterNative. Use the Journal Alerts tab - EBSCO on the following link: Setting up Alerts.

AlterNative
Explore AlterNative today

In the News

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)
APTN has served Indigenous Peoples in Canada and Canadian audiences for over two decades. During this time, the network has steadfastly adhered to its mission:
To share our Peoples’ journey, celebrate our culture, inspire our children and honour the wisdom of our Elders.
CBC News - Indigenous

Bibliographies

Lists of books and DVDs in our Library.

More Bibliographies

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans)
The database covers a wide range of topics pertaining to Indigenous Peoples of North America, including culture, history and daily life. This resource will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous peoples in North America.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC®, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
Gladue Rights Research Database This link opens in a new window
This database is an ever-expanding work in progress. It is designed to provide Indigenous people, their legal counsel, and others working within the justice system with information that will assist in the protection of Gladue rights after a person’s conviction and prior to sentencing. In particular, this database provides researchers with information pertaining to the history of settler colonialism in the province of Saskatchewan up to c. 1990.
Open access to this website and associate database is made possible through the generosity of the Law Society of Saskatchewan, Legal Aid Saskatchewan , the Saskatchewan Ministry of Corrections and Policing, and the Community-engaged History Collaboratorium, Department of History, at the University of Saskatchewan.
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool (University of Saskatchewan) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available through your own library.

Choose BROWSE BY TITLE and then scroll down to select INDIGENOUS PEOPLE: NORTH AMERICA. The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of pages of digitized historical content. Includes books, magazines, and primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems digitized by the Gale (Cengage) company.
Supported by University of Victoria Libraries, University of British Columbia Library, and Simon Fraser University Library. In collaboration with Gale, part of Cengage Learning.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

A-Z Database List more databases to choose from ...

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings:

e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:

e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:

For example:
- First Search Box: STATISTIC* AND
- Second Search Box: POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT"

Icon Legend:
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet
	eBook