LibGuides: Newspapers: Top Resources

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of more than 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information. Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s.Titles include historical archives from the BC Historical Newspapers Collection: The Province (back to1894), the Vancouver Sun (back to 1912) and the Times-Colonist (back to1884).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A supplemental database to Business Source.
With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.

A-Z Database List more databases to choose from ...

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings:

e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:

e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:

For example:
- First Search Box: STATISTIC* AND
- Second Search Box: POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT"

Icon Legend:
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet
	eBook