Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
This database is an ever-expanding work in progress. It is designed to provide Indigenous people, their legal counsel, and others working within the justice system with information that will assist in the protection of Gladue rights after a person’s conviction and prior to sentencing. In particular, this database provides researchers with information pertaining to the history of settler colonialism in the province of Saskatchewan up to c. 1990.
Open access to this website and associate database is made possible through the generosity of the Law Society of Saskatchewan, Legal Aid Saskatchewan , the Saskatchewan Ministry of Corrections and Policing, and the Community-engaged History Collaboratorium, Department of History, at the University of Saskatchewan.
Lexis+ Canada (from LexisNexis) provides access to Canadian case law, legislation, boards and tribunals, Canadian and US law journals and the Canada Digest. In addition, general legal textbooks are also available full-text online.
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources
This database provides access to a large collection of Canadian legislation, case law, legal looseleaf publications and other finding tools.
Highlighted subscribed resources:
• Legal Looseleaf
• Criminal Source
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources guide.
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records.
Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Access to the full text of more than 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information. Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s.Titles include historical archives from the BC Historical Newspapers Collection: The Province (back to1894), the Vancouver Sun (back to 1912) and the Times-Colonist (back to1884).
Explore all databases available through JIBC Library.
Description of database icons.
Icon
Description
Restricted Access
Resource is only available to JIBC students and faculty. You will be prompted to log in.
Students: enter student number and password.
Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials.
Open Access
Resource that is freely available online.
Canadian Content
Resource contains Canadian articles and data.
Best Bet
Resource is a good choice for the subject area.
eBook
Resource contains eBooks.
Search Tips
Use AND for fewer, but more precise, results. To make your search clearer, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in the advanced search feature.
e.g. statistic AND police
Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use.
e.g. police OR law enforcement
Use quotation marks ("...") to search for an exact phrase.
"social media"
Use the asterisk (*) at the end of a word to find all endings.
e.g. statistic* will find statistic, statistics, statistical, statistician, etc.
