Skip to main content

Intelligence & Tactical Criminal Analysis: Top Resources

Library Staff

JIBC Library's picture
JIBC Library
Contact:
715 McBride Blvd.
New Westminster, BC
V3L 5T4
604.528.5599
Website / Blog Page

Hours

Regular Library Hours:
 

Mon - Thurs 8 am - 8 pm

Friday  8 am - 5 pm

Saturday 9 am - 4 pm
 

 

 

 

 

 

Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Regular hours for AskAway: 
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm 
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Search Me!

In one FELL SWOOP, search most of the Library resources - book & DVD titles, online full-text journal articles, streaming media, eBooks, and more!!





Watch our Search Me video demo





Narrow your search to find articles only...

 


Find out if the JIBC Library has this journal...

Top Resources

These collections are available to JIBC students and faculty.  Off-campus users should contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed resources. Icon


CRCnetBase Icon

Although the titles will appear in a general Search Me! search, you may wish to search them separately.

Includes full-text eBooks in the following subject areas:

  • Forensic and Law Enforcement  
    "Featuring works by esteemed criminologists and forensic practitioners, this unparalleled e-library boasts an ever-growing number of essential references in crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, and forensic pathology. This versatile invaluable product is well-suited to the needs of the smallest of sheriff’s departments to large governmental law enforcement agencies, such as the CIA, DEA, and FBI".
     
  • Homeland Security  
    "From emergency response and disaster planning to counterterrorism, this eBook collection includes resources for emergency preparedness and response to terrorist attacks and natural disasters, transportation security, biodefense, detection of radioactive and radiological materials, and research on next-generation security technologies".

Thomson Reuters ProView Icon

Full-text online access to the following titles:

  • Admissibility of Statements, Ninth Edition
  • Breathalyzer Law in Canada: The Prosecution and Defence of Drinking and Driving Offences, 4th Edition
  • Canadian Criminal Code Offences
  • Canadian Criminal Procedure, Sixth Edition
  • Canadian Emergency Management and Response Manual: A Guide to the Law and Practice
  • Criminal Code Driving Offences: A Companion Text for Breathalyzer Law In Canada
  • DNA: A Practical Guide
  • Electronic Evidence in Canada 
  • Search and Seizure Law in Canada
  • The Law of Fraud and Related Offences
  • Weapons Offences Manual
  • Wiretapping and Other Electronic Surveillance: Law and Procedure

Articles

These databases are available to JIBC students and faculty.  Remember to contact the Library for the Username and Password required to access the licensed resources.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  Icon
    Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
  • Criminal Justice (ProQuest)  Icon
    Indexes 150 journals covering a broad range of criminal justice issues. 44 of these journals are full text (the entire article online).
  • Homeland Security Digital Library  Icon
    Over 90,000 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts  Icon
    Provides users with information thoroughly covering the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice. The database contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research. It also includes content from 189 journals, including 12 with core coverage. Content dates range from 1970 to the present. Topics covered within the database include corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Compilation of periodicals, academic journals and other content providing current news on all branches of the military and government. This Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals.
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    "Covers psychology, psychiatry, and related fields such as medicine, pharmacology, sociology, education, nursing, law, and more. Indexes approx. 2,000 journals. Contains nearly 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and more. Index journal coverage goes back to 1887. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985. "
  • SocINDEX with Full-Text  Icon
    "SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others."

Style Manual

Analysts Style Manual
Created by Mercyhurst College, Institute for Intelligence Studies. "The Analyst’s Style Manual is a product intended to assist student analysts with the many perplexing and complex rules they should follow in producing written intelligence products."

Evaluating Websites