Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts.
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
NOT discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library
Over 90,000 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 225,000 collection records and over 80,000 online resources, including all known Office of Justice Programs' works. Use the search filters and sorting options below to narrow down your results from the Abstracts Database.
NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records.
Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Access to the full text of more than 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information. Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s.Titles include historical archives from the BC Historical Newspapers Collection: The Province (back to1894), the Vancouver Sun (back to 1912) and the Times-Colonist (back to1884).
Perspectives on Terrorism is an open-access journal of the Terrorism Research Initiative and the Center for Terrorism and Security Studies.
Search Tips
Use AND for fewer, but more precise, results. To make your search clearer, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in the advanced search feature.
e.g. statistic AND police
Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use.
e.g. police OR law enforcement
Use quotation marks ("...") to search for an exact phrase.
"social media"
Use the asterisk (*) at the end of a word to find all endings.
e.g. statistic* will find statistic, statistics, statistical, statistician, etc.
