Skip to Main Content

ENGL-1100 - Academic Writing

Library Databases vs. Google 

Searching in a library database is very different than searching with Google.

Google use AI technology to predict what you want. That is why you can use full sentences, random words, or even spell words wrong and Google will still give you an answer (not always a reliable one though!). 

Library databases don't have this technology, so they use special language and symbols called Boolean Operators to understand exactly what you are searching. 

Library Databases vs. Google 

Searching in a library database is very different than searching with Google.

Google logo

Google uses AI technology to predict what you want. That is why you can use full sentences, random words, or even spell words wrong and Google will still give you an answer (not always a reliable one though!). 

Library logo

Library databases don't have the same AI technology as Google. Instead, they use special language and symbols called Boolean Operators to understand exactly what you are searching. This module will teach you to successfully search in library databases. 

Research Question

Start with a research topic or question. Example:

How can police use social media to successfully communicate with the public?

Identify Keywords

Identify the keywords in your research question: 

  1. Police
  2. Social Media
  3. Communicate

Brainstorm Synonyms

Brainstorm synonyms or related phrases for your keywords:

  1. Police - Law Enforcement; Cops
  2. Social Media - Twitter, TikTok, Facebook
  3. Communicate - Communication

Search the Library Database

Using the Advanced Search on the home page of the library website, search for your keywords and synonyms.

Step 1: Click on Advanced Search

Screenshot of Search Me Box with red box and arrow highlighting Advanced Search button.

 

Step 2: Place each search term and accompanying synonyms in a separate search field

Review the AND, OR, NOT, and more page for more information on using Search Operators to combine keywords and synonyms. 

Screenshot of an advanced search with four search boxes using quotation marks and asterisks to create an advanced boolean search.

 

Step 3: Add Database Filters

Screenshot of the search bar in EBSCO. The filter buttons below the search bar are surrounded by a red box.

 

Step 4: Review Results 

Green and black check mark