A non-partisan, non-profit society that was established in 1991 to promote and defend freedom of information and privacy rights in Canada. They serve a wide variety of individuals and organizations through programs of public education, public assistance, research, and law reform. Devoted solely to the advancement of freedom of information (FOI) and privacy rights.
BCLI carries out scholarly research, writing and analysis for law reform, collaborating with government and other entities, and providing materials and support for outreach and public information.
Sponsored by the Federation of Law Societies, this site provides links to legal information (statutes, regulations, courts) for Canada, all 10 provinces and 3 territories. Includes a search engine to links collections.
Provides legal information, education and help for British Columbians. Clicklaw is operated by the Courthouse Libraries BC as part of their mission to improve public access to legal information.
The BC Courthouse Library Society operates a province-wide system of 51 courthouse libraries. This site allows access to their catalogue which lists the resources available in these libraries. Also links to a full range of legal information services
Sponsored by the Canadian Bar Association (British Columbia) and funded by the Law Foundation of British Columbia, this site provides a printed copy of pre-recorded taped messages, by lawyers, on legal matters specific to British Columbia. Telephone numbers are provided so that individuals may contact a lawyer or listen to any of the taped messages.
Established in 1989 as the Law Courts Education Society, the Justice Education Society is dedicated to improving access to the justice system through hands-on, targeted, two-way education between the public and those working in the system. This non-profit organization with ongoing public and private sector financial and volunteer support offers a unique and comprehensive collection of justice-related educational services and effectively work towards creating a justice system that is accessible to all.
The Legal Services Society (LSS) provides legal services for people in British Columbia who cannot afford a lawyer and are eligible for legal aid under LSS legal aid guidelines.
An independent, non-profit, non-partisan society, whose goal is to provide all British Columbians with reliable legal information through public education programs, and a variety of services. The People's Law School has published many excellent booklets which are available through links on their site.
Developed jointly by the Legal Information Institutes (LIIS) around the world. Provides links to the legal information of Australia, Canada, East Timor, England, Hong Kong, Ireland, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, the Pacific Islands, Scotland, South Africa, United Kingdom and Wales.
The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) examines cases that are referred to it by the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC). The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal is similar to a court of law, but is less formal and only hears cases relating to discrimination. This site includes the Tribunal's Decisions Rulings, a list of its cases and annual reports.
The websites of the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court and Provincial Court including searchable judgments and information about court scheduling, procedures and locations.
