LibGuides: Family Justice: Databases

JIBC Library Databases

The following databases are available through the JIBC Library. To access resources:

JIBC Login: If you are a JIBC employee or have a JIBC student number, login using your network credentials.

No JIBC Login: If you do not have JIBC login credentials, contact the JIBC Library for access: library@jibc.ca.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA Complete) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records.
Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
An information resource for social workers and mental health professionals.
It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, behavioral and mental health, clinical social work, end-of-life care, and diversity and equality. Social Work Reference Center is written by a respected editorial faculty that creates content using a strict evidence-based editorial policy focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of the most current clinical research.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Open Access Databases

Open access databases are identified with an orange unlock symbol. These resources are available to anyone with access to the internet. They do not require a JIBC login.

Child Welfare Information Gateway This link opens in a new window
Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse.
Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.
This site provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 225,000 collection records and over 80,000 online resources, including all known Office of Justice Programs' works. Use the search filters and sorting options below to narrow down your results from the Abstracts Database.
NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
The PILOTS database (formerly PILOTS) is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Produced by the National Center for PTSD, United States Department of Veteran Affairs, electronically available to the public. Links include PTSD Research Quarterly and Clinician's Trauma Update Online (CTU Online).

NOTE: To access the database click onSearch the PILOTS Database (mid-page).
SSRN - Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 228,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 187,500 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.