LibGuides: Fire: Websites

Websites

ARFFWG: Aircraft Rescue & Fire Fighting Working Group
A non-profit international organization dedicated to the sharing of Aircraft Rescue & Fire Fighting (ARFF) information between airport firefighters, municipal fire departments, and all others concerned with aircraft fire fighting.
B.C. Office of the Fire Commissioner
Fire and safety legislation, training information, public education resources, statistics, services, FAQs, and other resources.
British Columbia Professional Fire Fighter's Burn Fund
The Burn Fund provides life saving, life supporting, and life enriching services to the people in British Columbia. More than 3,400 professional fire fighters in BC dedicate and donate their time and skills to support burn survivors and increase the public's knowledge about fire and burn safety issues through the work the Burn Fund does with its Burn Awareness, Research and Prevention Programs.
Bush Fire Bulletin
The New South Wales Rural Fire Service along with the National Library of Australia have digitised the entire collection of the Bush Fire Bulletin dating back to September 1952. All editions of the Bush Fire Bulletin are available online and are fully searchable.
Drill of the Month
This site developed by the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute, University of Maryland provides access to a selection of online Monthly Drills. Topics include Dumpster Firefighting, Vehicle Firefighting, Apparatus Response, and many more.
Firehall.com
Online resource for firefighting and rescue personnel. Includes a listing of all Canadian fire departments with an online presence.
Firehouse
An excellent place to start. This site offers all kinds of resources including a comprehensive directory of online fire departments, links to schools and training facilities, associations, government agencies, podcasts, webcasts, blogs, and fire and EMS-related research.
FNESS: First Nations' Emergency Services Society of British Columbia
This Web site provides access to information on services, programs and resources offered by the First Nations' Emergency Services Society of British Columbia
The National Fire Research Laboratory (NFRL)
Located on the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg, Maryland campus is a unique experimental facility dedicated to understanding fire behavior and structural response to fire.
NFPA Fire, Electrical and Building Resource Guide
NFPA has partnered with MultiView, Inc., an Irving, TX, publisher of Digital Buyer's Guides to launch this new resource guide designed specifically for safety industry professionals. The online search enables professionals to conveniently perform targeted searches for industry-related products and services using either a user-defined keyword search, or an alphabetized category and sub-category directory search.
Office of the Ontario Fire Marshal
A good source of fire safety information, guidelines, and statistics in Ontario. The Fire Protection and Emergency Management Library section is particularly useful.
OSH UPDATE + FIRE Newsletters
Supplements the OSH UPDATE + FIRE database.

As of April 2019, the NRC is offering free access to the downloadable and electronic formats of the National Building Code, the National Fire Code, the National Plumbing Code, and the National Energy Code for Buildings, as well as the provincial codes published by the National Research Council of Canada (NRC). Paper copies of the Codes, along with other supporting documents including the Guides, are available at a reduced cost.

B.C. Fire Training Officers Association
The British Columbia Fire Training Officers Association is dedicated to gathering information on training standards and providing this information to fire departments so they may effectively and safely train their members.
B.C. Professional Fire Fighters Association B.C.P.F.F.A
The British Columbia Professional Fire Fighters Association is made up of the 51 locals that represent B.C.'s professional fire fighters.
Council of Canadian Fire Marshals and Fire Commissioners
The Council addresses legislation, fire codes and standards, training and a variety of other fire safety topics.
Fire Chiefs' Association of B.C.
The Fire Chiefs' Association of British Columbia is a non-profit organization that was formed in 1931 to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and educational information relative to the Fire Service of British Columbia.
Fire Prevention Officers' Association of B.C.
The Fire Prevention Officers Association of British Columbia is an organization dedicated to the prevention of fire and the reduction of its impact on the population and economy of B.C.
Institution of Fire Engineers
The Institution of Fire Engineers, an international learned body, was founded in 1918 to promote, encourage and improve the science and practice of Fire Extinction, Fire Prevention and Fire Engineering.
International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS)
IAFSS encourages research into the science of preventing and mitigating the adverse effects of fires and of providing a forum for presenting the results of such research.
International Association of Women in Fire and Emergency Service (iWomen)
Provides a proactive network that supports, mentors, and educates current and future women in the fire and emergency services
National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors (NAFED)
A good source of information, listservs, contacts and other links.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Information about consensus codes and standards, research, and education for fire and related safety issues from this international non-profit organization.
National Fire Sprinkler Association (NFSA)
Unites various segments of the fire sprinkler industry, includes updates on the status of collective bargaining agreements, detailed outlines of sprinkler legislation and licensing requirements by state, and quick links to fire protection suppliers manufacturers, and industry-related agencies and organizations.
North American Fire Training Directors (NAFTD)
An association serving State, Provincial, and Territorial Fire training and education systems. As the primary point-of-contact for fire training and education not conducted within a fire department, members are responsible to assist fire departments achieve their goals.
Volunteer Firefighters' Association of B.C.
Represents the volunteer firefighters of British Columbia. Includes links to news and a membership list.

City of Vancouver Fire & Rescue Services
Includes safety tips, a map of the system's fire halls, and information on fire safety permits and inspections.
Fire Departments in Canada
A listing of all Canadian fire departments that are online.
The Fire Station
Lists fire departments, fire research information, hazardous materials information, EMS-related resources, jobs, links to related sites, and other resources of interest.

Fire Prevention Canada
Fire Prevention Canada (FPC) is the primary Canadian source/supplier of fire prevention materials and educational and promotional awareness programs to the general public and to the Fire Service.
NFPA's - Sparky the Fire Dog® web-site
A dynamic site that allows kids to experience an interactive world while learning about fire safety through exploration. Visitors can send e-cards, play games, explore fire trucks, turn various animals into Dalmatians, download a safety checklist and coloring sheets, fold origami fire dogs, and much more. Each month, a different section of the site will be highlighted to give you ideas on how to use the site in your educational efforts.
Parents & Educators: A Fire Safety Resource from NFPA
From the National Fire Protection Association, includes a safety checklist, home escape plan grid, a safety information card and sleepover information for children.
SOS Fires: Youth Intervention Programs
Provides useful information for professionals who work with youth firesetting behaviors or within juvenile firesetting intervention programs as well as parents, teachers, and others with questions about this issue. Provides access to online articles, research reports, and links to other intervention resources.

CSA Group
CSA develops standards for Business/Management Systems, Communications/ Information, Construction, Electrical and Electronics, Environment, Energy, Gas Equipment, Health Care, Materials Technology, Transportation /Distribution. This searchable site includes links to Products and Services and the CSA Solution Centre; as well as QMI, Calendar of Events, Members, Employment Opportunities and Newsletters. (English or French).
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
Provides basic information and issues specific to ISO. Updated regularly. Includes links to ISO members worldwide, ISO technical work, ISO Catalogue, Products, News and Related Web sites.
Standards Council of Canada
SCC provides an information gateway that brings standards-related programs and resources from Canada and abroad into singular focus.
Underwriters' Laboratories of Canada (ULC) Standards Catalogue
ULC is the Canadian safety, certification, testing quality registration and standards development organization dedicated entirely to the protection of life and properties. Site links to Services, Consumer Information and Quality Registration Division.
To access the ULC READ ONLY codes:
1. Click on applicable code
2. Click on Purchase
3. Click Digital View
4. Create an Account or Login
5. Agree to the terms
6. You can now view the code (pages are watermarked).
7. An option is now provided if you decide to purchase the code.

Engineering Laboratory: Fire Research Division
Resource for fire protection engineers, scientists, and fire service personnel. Includes a 50,000 document collection accessible through FIREDOC, a free on-line bibliographic database.
Fire Files Digital Library
To preserve the memory of the fire service past.
Fire Information Group (FIG UK)
An information exchange co-operative in the fire and loss prevention field.
Fire on the Web - National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Fire on the Web is a collection of resources from the Building and Fire Research Laboratory's Fire Research Division at NIST. Their Web pages provide links to fire related software, experimental fire data and mpeg/quick time movies of fire tests that can be downloaded and/or viewed with a Web browser. To locate specific publication, visit their Publications Portal.
Fire ReSearch Engine - International Association for Fire Safety Science IAFSS
The Fire ReSearch engine was developed to consolidate and search many relevant fire science publication databases.
FIREDOC
Part of the Engineering Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, this resource for fire protection engineers, scientists, and fire service personnel includes a 50,000 document collection accessible through FIREDOC, a free on-line bibliographic database.
inFIRE
The international network for Fire Information and Reference Exchange - a worldwide consortium of libraries with significant collections of fire literature. Links to inFIRE organizations, membership and activity info.
New York State - Academy of Fire Science Library Catalogue
Use links within citations to access some items online.
NFPA Charles S. Morgan Technical Library
View and search a collection of over 800 Firewise documents.
USFA - Library
Presented by the United States Fire Administration, this site provides current information and resources on fire and emergency management.

Because anyone can publish anything on the internet, it is very important to determine that the information you have found on a website comes from a reliable and authoritative source. So, how do you evaluate a website?

Ask yourself these questions when you are evaluating a website. Your answers will help you decide if the site appears to be a reliable source of information. In addition, we have provided a number of links to excellent guides for website evaluation.

Authority	Content
Is the author/producer easy to identify? Are the author’s credentials listed? Is the author’s affiliation easy to determine (e.g. university, government)	Are there errors or discrepancies on the site? Is the content appropriate for your needs? Is there sufficient coverage of the topic?
Currency	Objectivity
Can you find the date that the site was created? Was the site updated recently? Do the links on the site work?	Is the information factual or opinion? Is the site trying to sell something that seems too good to be true? Is the information consistent with other sources you’ve found? Is the source of the information provided?

Evaluating Sources

Fire: Websites

Websites

Authority

Content