The JIBC Library has an amazing collection of Streaming Media resources and DVDs related to policing. If you see a title that looks interesting, you can search for the title in the Search Me! box or access the videos through one of the links below. These collections are available to JIBC students and faculty. Off-campus users should contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed resources.
Here are the ones that are most relevant to policing and law enforcement.
Season 1 and 2 on DVD. A behind-the-scenes look at the challenges faced by the six officers of the Beat Enforcement Team's Squad Three, as they tirelessly work to maintain order in Vancouver's Downtown Eastside community.
Lower Mainland serving & retired police officers and volunteers make up the Odd Squad - an organization recognized as a leader in the field of drug and gang education for youth. DVDs include appearances by local police officers, including JIBC instructors. (Hint: find Riding with Madonna).
Designed for Canadian college and university faculty & students, Can-Core is your go-to destination for current and relevant Canadian video content.
Can-Core contains a large collection of Indigenous content, along with an 'Indigenous Content' filter to help users identify videos by or about Indigenous peoples.
The streaming platform features quality programming from many of Canada’s best producers. Educators and students now have an extensive library of Canadian resources to easily integrate into their lectures, labs, research and assignments.
- Much of this content is about or was filmed in BC
- Made up of 98% Canadian content
Curio provides instructors and students with streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Includes documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and the specialized News in Review Channel.
To create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio, you'll need to create an account. First you need an access code. Please contact our LIBRARY to obtain this code. Then:
• Cursor over the Login button
• Fill out the short registration form and click Continue
• An activation link will be sent to you by email
NOTE: Once you sign in using your own account, cursor over My Curio, then click on My Profile. Please ensure that all age groups are selected under "Authorized age groups" so that you can search (while in your own account) the complete collection.
NOT discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.
An on-line digital delivery feature film platform designed to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
You must have the correct version of Microsoft Silverlight installed on your computer if you are using Internet Explorer or Safari. Firefox and Google Chrome do not require Microsoft Silverlight. The Microsoft Silverlight plug-in is free.
Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Featuring more than 2,400 titles covering economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing.
Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Kanopy provides access to films in the areas of Abuse, Alcoholism, Conflict Negotiation, Law & Criminal Justice, Medicine, Nursing, Race & Class Studies, Trauma, and many more.
Kanopy is an "on-demand" streaming video service for educational institutions. JIBC will purchase Kanopy videos once a film has been accessed four times for greater than 30 seconds. This indicates that the video is "in demand" and therefore warrants purchase. The video will then be licensed for JIBC users for one-year from date of purchase.
Discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.
The National Film Board (NFB) site provides access to an online collection of over 2,500 Canadian films, including, documentaries, animations, and alternative dramas which can be shown in the classroom.
The JIBC Library’s educational license with NFB provides access to additional CAMPUS titles. To access all the resources available, create a free personal account (click "more" below) that provides additional access to:
- Educational Playlists (Diversity & Inclusion, Indigenous Voices & Reconciliation, Mental Health & Wellbeing, etc.),
- NFB’s study guides, and
- The ability to create your own playlists (choose when to Start and End your Chapter, add notes, and present your selections to the class).
To create you own account:
Step 1: Contact JIBC Library (604-528-5599 or library@jibc.ca) to request the "token" NFB link.
Step 2: Upon receipt of the "token" link, create an NFB account.
Step 3: Sign in then follow the left-hand side-bar for instructions on creating Playlists, etc.
Step 4: For more information visit the User Guide
Discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.
