LAWS-3002 - Comparative Justice

eBook
Top Resource
Comparative and International Criminal Justice Systems: Policing, Judiciary, and Corrections, Third Edition examines the history, dynamics, structure, organization, and processes in the criminal justice systems in a number of selected countries. Designed for courses in comparative criminal justice systems, comparative criminology, and international

Top Resource
Available in Print book (use Call Number) and eBook (use URL)
eBook Limited 1 User At a Time
This book offers a scholarly introduction to comparative criminal justice. It examines and reflects on the ways different countries and jurisdictions deal with the main stages in the criminal justice process, from policing, to systems of trial, to sentencing, and punishment. This popular bestseller has been fully updated and expanded for the fourth edition. This textbook provides the reader with: a comparative perspective on criminal justice and its main components a knowledge of methodology for comparative research and analysis a discussion of global trends such as the global drop in crime, the punitive turn, penal populism, privatization, international policing and international criminal tribunals an understanding of the emerging concepts in comparative criminal justice, such as security, surveillance, crimmigration and penal exceptionalism a global and historical consideration of the death penalty and international criminal justice increased attention to environmental crime, genocide and policy brutality. The new edition has been fully updated to keep abreast with this growing field of study and research, to include a broader coverage of judicial decision makers; a new chapter on the death penalty in comparative perspective; and further coverage of key topics such as global policing and electronic monitoring, and new insights into measuring and understanding crime and punishment globally. In this book, lists of further reading, study questions and boxed case studies help bring comparative criminal justice alive for students and instructors alike.

Top Resource
Available in Print book (use Call Number) and eBook (use URL)
eBook Limited 1 User At a Time
Examining nineteen countries, purposefully selected to ensure not only broad geographic distribution but also cultural and religious diversity, political differentiation, and historical experiences, this book is a go to reference for comparative criminal justice studies, human rights studies, victimology, gender studies, anthropology, and political science. Divided into five parts, this book includes chapters on Sub-Saharan Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, Europe and Eurasia, the Middle East, and the western hemisphere. Although each chapter represents a different country, all chapters have similar thematic sections providing summaries of the wide array of policing practices, exploring the different types of criminal procedure used across the world, and recognizing the many methods that different societies use to sanction criminal behavior among their citizens.

Print book
An international perspective -- Domestic, transnational, and international crime and justice -- An American perspective on criminal law -- Legal traditions -- Substantive law and procedural law in the four legal traditions -- An international perspective on policing -- An international perspective on courts --An international perspective on corrections -- An international perspective on juvenile justice -- Japan : examples of effectiveness and borrowing.

eBook
This book is a systematic and comparative analysis of police systems in the Western world, looking at their structure and how they tackle contemporary social problems, such as economic austerity, multi-level governance, transnational change, relations with minorities and transformation of delinquency. Core content includes: • Comparative histories of the formation of national police systems; • A discussion of centralised and decentralised police systems; • International differences in community policing; • A review of different police strategies in fighting delinquency and reducing urban disorder; • A comparative analysis of different ways of controlling police misconduct; • An exploration of different models of plural policing. While other books focus on policing in relation to measures effective in decreasing delinquency and augmenting security, this book considers the political, professional, administrative and political economic parameters which frame and shape the course of police reforms. It also explores how operational policing is shaped by the cultural and institutional contexts in which it is located. It is essential reading for students engaged in international police studies and comparative criminal justice.

eBook
A unique approach to studying police forces around the globe How do police forces around the world move toward democratization of their operations and responses? Analyzing police forces from 12 different countries, Comparative Policing: The Struggle for Democratization assesses the stages of each country based on the author′s development of a'Continuum of Democracy'scale. Key Features Using five basic themes, this book uses the following criteria to rank and evaluate where each country falls on the continuum, clarifying how policing practices differ: · History of a democratic form of government · Level of corruption within governmental organizations and the oversight mechanisms in place · Scope of and response to civil disobedience · Organization structures of police departments · Operational responses to terrorism and organized crime Intended Audience: This unique analysis of policing is an ideal text for undergraduate and graduate courses in Comparative Criminal Justice, Police Studies, Policing and Society, and Terrorism in departments of criminal justice, criminology, sociology, and government.

Print book
Differences in national sentencing systems and the differences they make / Michael Tonry -- Nordic sentencing / Tapio Lappi-Seppala -- No news is good news : criminal sentencing in Germany since 2000 / Thomas Weigand -- Sentencing and penal policies in Italy, 1985-2015 : the tale of a troubled country / Alessandro Corda -- Sentencing in Poland : failed attempts to reduce punitiveness / Krzysztof Krajewski -- Understanding the sentencing process in France / Jacqueline Hodgson and Laurene Soubise -- Belgian sentencing as a bifurcated practice / Veerle Scheirs, Kristel Beyens, and Sonja Snacken -- The evolution of sentencing policy and practice in England and Wales, 2003-2015 -- Weathering the storm? Testing the long-standing Canadian sentencing policy in the twenty-first century / Anthony N. Doob and Cheryl Marie Webster -- The road well traveled in Australia : ignoring the past, condemning the future / Arie Freiberg -- Equality and human dignity : the missing ingredients in American sentencing / Michael Tonry.

eBook (use URL)
eBook Limited 1 User At a Time
This edited collection illuminates the weaknesses and strengths of crime reporting across a wide range of countries, with a focus on democratic countries in which the police bear some accountability to citizens. With chapters written by native authors who are experts on the practices of their respective countries, the book explores practices in 15 different countries across the globe.

eBook
This book aims to offer cross-cultural perspectives of different criminological issues and criminal justice systems operating worldwide. The book is an edited volume of articles collected from criminologists all over the world. It is a peer reviewed collection. The chapters focuses on various criminological issues such as Bullying, Child abuse, Corrections (Institutional and Community), Cyber crimes, Corporate crime, Corruption, Costs of crime, Crime Analysis, Crime prevention, Crime Mapping and GIS, Criminal justice systems, Environmental crime, Ethnic/communal/caste conflicts, Family violence, Fear of crime, High tech crimes, Homicide, Human trafficking, Juvenile Delinquency, Organized crime, Offenders including women offenders, Policing, Prisons, Public attitudes, Restorative justice, Sexual assault, Stalking, Theories of crime, Transnational crime, Victimology, Violence, White collar crime, and Workplace violence.

Print book
"The revised 10th edition of this core textbook provides an understanding of major world criminal justice systems by discussing and comparing the systems of six of the world's countries-each representative of a different type of legal system. England, France, Japan, South Africa, Russia, and China are all covered in detail, and an additional chapter on Islamic law uses three example nations to illustrate the range of practice within Sharia. Political, historical, organizational, procedural, and critical issues confronting the justice systems are explained and analyzed. Neatly organized with a parallel structure throughout the text, each chapter contains material on government, police, judiciary, law, corrections, juvenile justice, and other critical issues. A new feature of this text focuses on the nature of the political world order and the significant clash between some democratic and authoritarian governments. Of particular concern are those authoritarian governments that have seen the rise of what has been popularly referred to as the strongman leader. The countries covered in this text have seen the emergence of four such strongmen. While the rise of each occurred in different contexts, they were each facilitated in significant ways by the manner in which they asserted their control over the country's criminal justice system. This book is suitable for undergraduate and graduate students in criminal justice, prelaw, and similar programs. Supplementary materials include test bank and lecture slides, with additional exercises to facilitate students' comparisons of different approaches to justice around the world"-- Provided by publisher.

eBook
Criminal justice procedure is the bedrock of human rights. Surprisingly, however, in an era of unprecedented change in criminal justice around the world, it is often dismissed as technical and unimportant. This failure to take procedure seriously has a terrible cost, allowing reform to be driven by purely pragmatic considerations, cost-cutting or foreign influence. Current US political domination, for example, has produced a historic and global shift towards more adversarial procedure, which is widely misunderstood and inconsistently implemented. This book addresses such issues by bringing together a huge range of historical and contemporary research on criminal justice in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australasia and the Americas. It proposes a theory of procedure derived from the three great international trial modes of'inquisitorial justice','adversarial justice'and'popular justice'. This approach opens up the possibility of assessing criminal justice from a more objective standpoint, as well as providing a sourcebook for comparative study and practical reform around the world.