LibGuides: Substance Abuse: Find Websites

Related Guides

Complex Trauma Guide
Find resources on complex trauma & child sexual abuse intervention.
Paramedic Guide
Find medical reference texts, anatomical visualizations, and pharmacology information.

Websites

British Columbia
Canada

Alcohol & Drug Information Referral Service
HealthLinkBC
Alcohol Use
HealthLinkBC
Drug Rehab Services and Addiction Information in British Columbia
Drug Rehab Services is a free resource for drug and alcohol addiction in Canada. Our goal is for you to get the best advice possible so that you or a loved one can live a fulfilled life free from drugs and alcohol. We can provide referrals for clients seeking drug and alcohol rehab centers in Canada.
Fentanyl Safety for First Responders
Fentanyl safety website for first responders. This project was a collaborative effort from a number of stakeholders that included JIBC, police, fire, paramedics and the Province of BC.
Four Pillars Drug Strategy
City of Vancouver
Here To Help
Information on various form of substance abuse in multiple languages is available on the website.
University of Victoria - Canadian Institute for Substance Use Research
The Canadian Institute for Substance Use Research (CISUR), formerly the Centre for Addictions Research of BC, is a network of individuals and groups dedicated to the study of substance use and addiction in support of community-wide efforts to promote health and reduce harm. Our research is used to inform a broad range of projects, reports, publications and initiatives aimed at providing all people in BC and beyond with access to happier, healthier lives, whether using substances or not.

Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction
A very informative Canadian site that covers just about every drug abuse issue and includes links to searchable online databases and other resources. Also has a great index (the Find it Fast section) for easy searching.
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) is the largest mental health and addictions facility in Canada. The Web site provides information about the Centre and covers the topics of understanding, prevention and care. In addition, each page provides more specific links to other related pages or areas of interest.
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Prevention: Canadian Perspectives
Public Health Agency of Canada
Health Canada - Drug Prevention and Treatment
Part of Health Canada's role is to increase awareness among youth of the dangers of experimenting with illicit drugs, and to assist parents in keeping their kids drug-free. Health Canada also collaborates with provincial and territorial governments through the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Committee on Substance Use and Abuse.
Problematic Substance Use
Government of Canada. Information about the problematic use of illegal and prescription drugs and alcohol.
Public Health Agency of Canada - Substance Use/Addictions
The Public Healthy Agency of Canada has resources that can help with substance abuse and addictions (including information about identifying and preventing addictions). Provides links to resources that can assist health professionals and educators.

Evaluating Websites

Anyone can publish on the internet. Always evaluate a website to make sure it is a reliable and authoritative source.

Ask yourself these questions:

Authority

Is the author/producer easy to identify?
Are the author's credentials listed?
Is the author's affiliation easy to determine (e.g. university, government)

Content

Are there errors or discrepancies on the site?
Is the content appropriate for your needs?
Is there sufficient coverage of the topic?

Currency

Can you find the date that the site was created?
Was the site updated recently?
Do the links on the site work?

Objectivity

Is the information factual or opinion?
Is the site trying to sell something that seems too good to be true?
Is the information consistent with other sources you’ve found?
Is the source of the information provided?

More Information

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites (Word document) (University of Maryland)

Evaluate Websites
It's important to always evaluate sources before using them in an assignment. This guide gives some quick tips on what to look for in a website.