Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts.
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Databases that are not available through the SearchMe box:
Lexis+ Canada (from LexisNexis) provides access to Canadian case law, legislation, boards and tribunals, Canadian and US law journals and the Canada Digest. In addition, general legal textbooks are also available full-text online.
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 225,000 collection records and over 80,000 online resources, including all known Office of Justice Programs' works. Use the search filters and sorting options below to narrow down your results from the Abstracts Database.
NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 228,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 187,500 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
This database provides access to a large collection of Canadian legislation, case law, legal looseleaf publications and other finding tools.
Highlighted subscribed resources:
• Legal Looseleaf
• Criminal Source
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources guide.
Access to the full text of more than 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information. Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s.Titles include historical archives from the BC Historical Newspapers Collection: The Province (back to1894), the Vancouver Sun (back to 1912) and the Times-Colonist (back to1884).
Lexis+ Canada (from LexisNexis) provides access to Canadian case law, legislation, boards and tribunals, Canadian and US law journals and the Canada Digest. In addition, general legal textbooks are also available full-text online.
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources
Explore all databases available through JIBC Library.
Description of database icons.
Icon
Description
Restricted Access
Resource is only available to JIBC students and faculty. You will be prompted to log in.
Students: enter student number and password.
Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials.
Open Access
Resource that is freely available online.
Canadian Content
Resource contains Canadian articles and data.
Best Bet
Resource is a good choice for the subject area.
eBook
Resource contains eBooks.
Search Tips
Use AND for fewer, but more precise, results. To make your search clearer, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in the advanced search feature.
e.g. statistic AND police
Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use.
e.g. police OR law enforcement
Use quotation marks ("...") to search for an exact phrase.
"social media"
Use the asterisk (*) at the end of a word to find all endings.
e.g. statistic* will find statistic, statistics, statistical, statistician, etc.
