Skip to main content

Copyright Guide for Faculty: Digital

You can do the following ...

As permitted under the Fair Dealing Guidelines ...  

Remember to cite your source
 

Material on a Website (inc. images, video, audio, etc.)
  • Copy if there is no explicit notice* that disallows copying for educational purposes AND you don't have reason to believe it's online illegally. 
    • Then you can make digital or print copies for your courses, within the limits of fair dealing.
  • Copy if the Internet source explicitly allows their content to be copied for non-commercial purposes, such as video or music with a Creative Commons license.
  • Link to an item. Share links whenever possible.
Article from a Library Database
  • Link to an article in Blackboard (see Linking to Online Articles below). Linking does not require permission.  
    • Exception: Harvard Business Review (we have a special license that allows us to link to HBR)
  • Upload articles from some databases into Blackboard. 
Scanned Copyrighted Image
Scanned Chapter from a Book or Journal
  • Scan and upload 1 chapter or up to 10% of a book into Blackboard. 
  • Scan and upload 1 article in a journal, or other periodical, into Blackboard. 
Statutes, Regulations and Court Decisions
  • Copying the text of Canadian federal, provincial and territorial statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions is allowed
    • Except for those of Manitoba, Quebec, and Nunavut​
  • Copying U.S. federal government materials is allowed (this material is in the public domain).
Case Law
Instructors have permission to handout copies from judgments and statutes published on CanLII to students enrolled in JIBC courses.
 
Explicit notice = a statement that copying for educational purposes requires permission (a simple © symbol is not considered an explicit notice). 

Linking to Online Articles

Electronic resources for which the Library pays, have license agreements. In general, the licenses allow persistent web links to individual articles. For certain databases, it is permissible to embed PDFs directly into Blackboard courses.

Creating Persistent Links

When linking to online articles from Library databases, you need to ensure that you have the permanent link (also known as persistent link or permalink). 

Creating Persistent Links

Links to full-text, online journal articles can be included in Blackboard course pages, course reading lists, email messages, Word documents, PowerPoint slides, or webpages.

Online journal articles can be linked by using the databases from two search services: EBSCOhost and ProQuest. Follow the instructions below to create persistent links to full-text journal articles.

EBSCOhost

  1. Conduct a search in one of the EBSCOhost databases, choosing the Full Text limiter.
  2. Click on the title of an article - not the HTML or PDF full-text link.
  3. To the right of the citation display, in the Tools box, the Permalink option is displayed. Click on it to get the permanent link. It will look similar to this: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=mdc&AN=26978966&site=eds-live&scope=site&authtype=shib&custid=s5672447
  4. Paste this URL into a document to link directly to the full-text of the article. To read the article off-campus, a student will need to enter the User ID and Password.

 

ProQuest

  1. Conduct a search in one of the ProQuest databases, choosing the Full Text limiter.
  2. Click on the title of an article - not the HTML or PDF full-text link.
  3. Near the bottom of the citation display in the Indexing (details) section, the Document URL is displayed.  
  4. Paste this URL into a document to link directly to the ful-text of the article. To read the article off-campus, a student will need to enter the User ID and Password.