Skip to main content

Paramedic: Top Resources

This guide will help you locate books, DVDs, journal articles and other electronic information on Paramedicine.

Library Staff

JIBC Library's picture
JIBC Library
Contact:
715 McBride Blvd.
New Westminster, BC
V3L 5T4
604.528.5599
Website / Blog Page

Hours

Regular Library Hours:
 

Mon - Thurs 8 am - 8 pm

Friday  8 am - 5 pm

Saturday 9 am - 4 pm
 

 

 

 

 

 

Chat Help

AskAway is staffed by librarians from post-secondary institutions in B.C. When you start an AskAway session, a librarian will chat with you in real-time. 

Regular hours for AskAway: 
Sun-Thurs: 10am-9pm 
Fri-Sat: 11am-5pm

Search Me!

In one FELL SWOOP, search most of the Library resources - book & DVD titles, online full-text journal articles, streaming media, eBooks, and more!!





Watch our Search Me video demo





Narrow your search to find articles only...

 


Find out if the JIBC Library has this journal...

Top Resources

All online resources listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed resources 

  • Access Medicine  Icon
    FULL-TEXT access to more than 80 medical titles 
    Create a profile to access:  flash cards, games, case files, videos, patient education sheets, drug information, images
  • Anatomy TV (includes Anatomy & Physiology Online)  Icon
    A comprehensive selection of dynamic, interactive modules featuring more than 6,500 highly accurate, three-dimensional anatomy models. Modules focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems.
  • Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking  Icon
    Streaming video on the internet. Access 18 individual videos, each covering a different body system. Also available for loan in DVD format.
  • Dynamed  Icon
    A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, updated daily, DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
  • eBook Academic Collection  Icon
    This EBSCO collection contains more than 119,000 multidisciplinary eBook titles. Includes Short Stories and covers subject areas such as: Criminology, Education, FIre Science, Leadership, Medical, Political Science, Social Science, and many others.
  • eCPS  Icon
    The online version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties. Also provides current drug updates and advisories from Health Canada. Canadian Pharmacists Association’s online Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (e-CPS) provides health care professionals with web access to the most current Canadian drug information available. Containing thousands of Health Canada–approved drug monographs, links to Health Canada advisories, printable information for patients, searchable product images and more, e-CPS is an advanced yet user-friendly resource that is updated regularly.
  • Stat!Ref  Icon
    STAT!Ref provides access to textbooks including:
    Auscultation Skills: Breath and Heart Sounds
    EKG Plain and Simple
    Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology
    Essentials of Paramedic Care-Cdn ed
    Handbook of Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Imbalances
    Hospital for Sick Children Handbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine
    Merck Manual
  • Stat!Ref Mobile  Icon
    Access Stat!Ref on your Mobile Device

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

All online resources listed below are available to JIBC students and faculty.  If you are off-campus please contact the Library for a username and password to access the licensed databases 


Database Search Tips

1. Use the at the end of a word to find all endings: PEDIATRIC* will find PEDIATRIC, PEDIATRICS, PEDIATRICIAN etc

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: HEART* OR CARDIO* OR CARDIAC*

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits.  For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH
First Search Box:  PEDIATRIC* 
Second Search Box
:  HEART* OR CARDIO* OR CARDIAC*

 

 

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list books and DVDs at the Library. 

Anatomy & Physiology

Heart & Lung Sounds

Simulation Training

More Bibliographies
 

Evaluating Websites

Web Links

Paramedics Links

Find links on the following topics: advanced care, anatomy, auscultation, associations & organizations, multimedia learning objects, training, mobile resources & more.

  • See also the Emergency Childbirth tab in this Subject Guide