LibGuides: Paramedic: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Anyone can publish on the internet. Always evaluate a website to make sure it is a reliable and authoritative source.

Ask yourself these questions:

Authority

Is the author/producer easy to identify?
Are the author's credentials listed?
Is the author's affiliation easy to determine (e.g. university, government)

Content

Are there errors or discrepancies on the site?
Is the content appropriate for your needs?
Is there sufficient coverage of the topic?

Currency

Can you find the date that the site was created?
Was the site updated recently?
Do the links on the site work?

Objectivity

Is the information factual or opinion?
Is the site trying to sell something that seems too good to be true?
Is the information consistent with other sources you’ve found?
Is the source of the information provided?

More Information

Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites (Word document) (University of Maryland)

Websites

College of Physicians & Surgeons of British Columbia
Provides access to the College Quarterly Newsletter, policy manual, other organizations across Canada. In addition, the link to the college library provides access to some fulltext books and journals.
Medscape - Emergency Medicine
An on-line medical reference with over 650 topics. Provides detailed information on the diagnosis and management of disorders in emergency settings. Includes downloadable color x-rays, illustrations, and pictures.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy,18th ed.
An online version of the well-respected general medical textbook. The manual is searchable via keyword or by sections and chapters listed in the extensive Table of Contents.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
WebMD
WebMD provides health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. This site provides information on numerous Illnesses & Ailments, Drugs & Treatments, Women's Health, Men's Health, Children's Health and Health News.
Webpath: Internet Pathology Lab
The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education hosted By The University of Utah Eccles Health Sciences Library

Anatomy and Physiology
Open Access textbook from OpenStax College (an initiative of Rice University).
Anatomy & Physiology II Tutoring Links
Compiled by the Univeristy of Houston, Department of Biology and Biochemistry, Support in Biological Sciences.
Anatomy Atlases
Anatomy Textbooks and Anatomy Atlases.
Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
eSkeletons
Provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. From the University of Texas at Austin.
Health Videos - Medline Plus
Animated videos showing the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Muscle Atlas
University of Washington. Color illustrations of individual upper and lower extremity muscles and concise information: Origin, Insertion, Action, Innervation, and Arterial Supply.

Abnormal Position and Presentation of the Fetus
Merck Manual - Consumer Edition.
Abruptio Placenta
HealthLinkBC
Breech Position and Breech Birth
HealthLinkBC
Ectopic Pregnancy
HealthLinkBC
Ectopic Pregnancy
Vancouver Coastal Health.
Multiple Births Canada
Provides support, education, research, and advocacy both nationally and internationally to individuals, families, Chapters, and organizations that have a personal or professional interest in multiple birth issues.
Placenta Previa
HealthLinkBC
Pre-Eclampsia
HealthLinkBC
Preterm Labour
HealthLinkBC

Drugs.com
Pill Identifier. Search by Imprint, Shape or Color.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements (Medline Plus)
Information on prescription and over-the-counter medications (including herbs and supplements), provided by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).

Ambulance Paramedics of British Columbia (CUPE 873)
Message Board and Contract available to members only. Site contains information about the history of the ambulance paramedics, training, education and careers. Links to other paramedic associations provided.
BC Emergency Health Services (BCEHS)
Formerly the Emergency and Health Services Commission (EHSC), BCEHS is supported by the Provincial Health Services Authority. BCEHS will continue with a mandate of providing provincial ambulance and emergency health services under the Emergency Health Services Act.
Paramedic Association of Canada
The national association for paramedics in Canada. Excellent source for news, job listings, and links to provincial associations and regulators.

Because anyone can publish anything on the internet, it is very important to determine that the information you have found on a website comes from a reliable and authoritative source. So, how do you evaluate a website?

Ask yourself these questions when you are evaluating a website. Your answers will help you decide if the site appears to be a reliable source of information. In addition, we have provided a number of links to excellent guides for website evaluation.

Authority	Content
Is the author/producer easy to identify? Are the author’s credentials listed? Is the author’s affiliation easy to determine (e.g. university, government)	Are there errors or discrepancies on the site? Is the content appropriate for your needs? Is there sufficient coverage of the topic?
Currency	Objectivity
Can you find the date that the site was created? Was the site updated recently? Do the links on the site work?	Is the information factual or opinion? Is the site trying to sell something that seems too good to be true? Is the information consistent with other sources you’ve found? Is the source of the information provided?

Evaluating Sources