Find Case Law & Legislation

Use details from specific legal cases or legislation.

Case Law

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
Federal and Provincial legislation, decisions and commentary. Freely accessible.
Lexis+ Canada
Lexis+ Canada (from LexisNexis) provides access to Canadian case law, legislation, boards and tribunals, Canadian and US law journals and the Canada Digest. In addition, general legal textbooks are also available full-text online.

For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources
Westlaw Canada
This database provides access to a large collection of Canadian legislation, case law, legal looseleaf publications and other finding tools.
Highlighted subscribed resources:
• Legal Looseleaf
• Criminal Source
For more information on how to use this database, please refer to our eResources guide.

BC Laws
Published by the King's Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Justice and the Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.

BC Laws has been upgraded to provide enhanced searching and more content including historical legislation and related publications such as BC Gazette, full text Orders-in-Council, and Tables of Legislative Changes.
Quickscribe
Quickscribe includes full text access to all BC Statutes and Regulations as well as a growing list of key federal legislation including the Criminal Code of Canada, Divorce Act and Canadian Environmental Assessment Act to name a few.

Users may also access Orders in Councils, Bills, repealed laws, point-in-time archived legislation and other "related" industry- specific documents. Offers delivery of RSS feeds to provide you with instant notification of new amendments to relevant legislation in your research area.
View this VIDEO for an overview to learn how to navigate, research, print and track annotated legislation that matters most to you. Watch this VIDEO that highlights the main features and benefits of this made-in-BC service.

Legislation found on Quickscribe Online is updated daily. For information on how to use this database, visit Quickscribes 2.0 Training Webinar posted online.

Justice Laws Website
The Justice Laws Website provides online access to the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. This website provides access to federal Acts and regulations in both official languages. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
Canadian (Federal) Laws and Acts
Here are links to federal legislation that may be of interest to you if you are involved in the criminal justice system.