Skip to Main Content

Start Your Research: Alerting Service

Introduction

It is important for researchers and academics to keep up-to-date with the most recently published information and developments.  In order to do so, users can set up SEARCH ALERTS to be automatically notified when new articles are written on areas of interest or JOURNAL TABLE OF CONTENT ALERTS when new journal issues are published. 

Need assistance?

Contact the JIBC Library at 604.528.5599 or via email.

Alerts

Alerts, as defined by EBSCO, are:

  • an efficient and easy-to-use method for pushing updated EBSCOhost [and other databases] search results out to co-workers, patrons, faculty or students
  • automatic email notification to specified recipients whenever a new journal issue has been added to a database
  • support for RSS feed designations, such as newsreaders and web pages, where Search and Journal Alert results can be regularly posted and read at the reader's discretion
  • time-saving results management tools to help users get the most from EBSCOhost [and other databases] database content

For example: An instructor wants to keep up-to-date on simulations in education. The instructor can create a ARTICLE ALERT in the database(s) of their choice so that they are informed as soon as new information is published.

For example: A faculty member is very interested in the journal Aggression & Violent Behavior and likes to review the Table of Content of each issue to see what is in the current literature.  The faculty member can create a JOURNAL TABLE OF CONTENTS ALERTS in the appropriate database so that they are automatically informed each time a new issue is published.

In the following sections, we will focus on these two types of Alerts: Article and Journal.  These alerts can be delivered two ways, via email or through an RSS feed.  This will be detailed in the subsequent sections, focusing on database aggregators, EBSCO and ProQuest.

Before creating any search or journal alerts, we recommend that you create a personal account in both EBSCO and Proquest.  You will then have a personal folder that you can use to save search results, persistent links to searches, search alerts, journal alerts and web pages.

To create a personal account, go to the applicable EBSCO or ProQuest database and follow the steps outlined on the following sites:

EBSCO PROQUEST OTHER

How to Create and Manage a My EBSCOhost Account

 How to Create a ProQuest My Research Account         

Emerald Publishing: How do I create a User Profile
YouTube (5:04)

Taylor & Francis: How to register for an account

 

You may set up an alerting service in any of the EBSCO or ProQuest databases that our Library subscribes to. This means you can have the results of a search you created automatically emailed to you. You determine how frequently the search will be run as well as the length of time the search will continue.

Note: You can search multiple databases at the same time by using Choose Databases (EBSCO) or All Databases (ProQuest).

EBSCO PROQUEST

1. Do a search in the main Library SearchMe! box 

  • Your results list will appear.
  • Sign in with your JIBC credentials (e.g. Student # and PW).
  • Click on CREATE ALERT (below the blue SEARCH button)
  • You must sign in to create email alerts.
  • Click on SIGN IN.  
  • If you do not have an EBSCO account, follow the prompt to create one.
  • Fill in the form and save.

1. Go to the ProQuest database of your oice.

  • Click on My Research to create account; or, to access existing account.
  • To register - click on Create a My Research Account.
  • The Create a My Research Account window appears.
  • Complete the form and save.

2. Now that you have an account:

  • .Each time you do a search, you can click on CREATE ALERT 
  • You will then sign into your account and SAVE the alert.
  • Note you can adjust how often you receive the alert.
  • To prevent EBSCO Alerts from being routed to your SPAM or junk mail folder, adjust your email to accept messages from EPAlerts@EPNET.COM.

2. Create a search.

  • Connect to one of the ProQuest databases.
  • Check top-left corner of Proquest site: it may have selected extra databases - just de-select those you don't want.
  • Click on the Advanced Search tab and do a search.

3. To find your Alerts later:

  • Do a search in the main Library search box
  • Sign in with JIBC Username/Password 
  • Click on the Search History
  • Select Retrieve Alerts
  • Sign into your EBSCO account

3. Save the search as an alert.

  • Click on Create an Alert (top right of Results List).
  • Complete the form and save it (ensure Alert Frequency is what you want).
  • You will receive an immediate email confirming the alert.
  • To prevent ProQuest Alerts from being routed to your SPAM or junk mail folder, adjust your email to accept messages from alerts@proquest.com.

For additional information:

Creating a Search Alert in EBSCOhost - Tutorial (YouTube)

How to Use Search Alerts

My EBSCOhost Folder - Tutorial (YouTube)

For additional information:

Create a Search Alert

Creating Email Search Alerts in ProQuest Databases (YouTube)

 

As part of this service you can also have the Table of Contents (TOC) automatically emailed to you, as soon as a new issue of a Journal is released. This is not limited to the journals we subscribe to (as indicated in our Library Catalogue) but rather to the journals indexed in the EBSCO or ProQuest databases we subscribe to.

FIRST:  Search the JIBC Library Journal Titles to see which database includes your chosen title.

EBSCO PROQUEST OTHER

If your requested journal is in an EBSCO database:

1.  Go to the available EBSCO database.

2. Click on Alert/Save/Share.

3. Click on CREATE ALERT.

4. Sign-in to your account or Create an Account

4. Complete the brief form.

5. Click on SAVE ALERT.

If your requested journal is in a ProQuest database:

1. Go to the ProQuest database of your choice.

2. Sign into your My Research Account (or, create one)

3. At the top left, click SEARCH

4. At the top, select PUBLICATIONS

5. Search or browse for the journal title you want

6. Click on the appropriate journal title

7. Select Set-up Alert.

8. Complete the brief form and click Create Alert.

Journal NOT available through EBSCO or ProQuest?

1. Go to the journal's website

2. Search their site to see if they offer an alert service.

3. If so, follow their instructions.
For additional information:  For additional information:  Information from other publishers:

Creating Journal Alerts on EBSCOhost - Tutorial (YouTube)

How to Use Journal Alerts

How to create a publication alert 

 

Emerald - Guidance on Creating Alerts
Some Emerald journals we subscribe to are:
- Disaster Prevention and Management
- International Journal of Emergency Services
- Policing: An International Journal of Police Strategies & Management

Taylor & Francis - Setting up Alerts
Some T&F journals we subscribe to are:
- Criminal Justice Ethics
- International Journal of Intelligence and CounterIntelligence
- Journal of Crime & Justice
- Journal of Offender Rehabilitation
- Prehospital Emergency Care

Email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your choice of query or topic.

For more information on RSS please visit these sites:

Alternatively, you can set up an alert to be sent to you via RSS Feed. This is a fast and simple way of having the alerts sent to your email address or to an RSS Feed Reader to which you subscribe. 

RSS feeds are denoted by this symbol: 

Note that if you choose an RSS Feed (rather than an e-mail alert), it will most often automatically route to your RSS Folder in Microsoft Outlook and to your IE Favourites-Feeds Folder.

In most cases, you must actually click on the RSS Feed URL to activate the Feed; or, to copy it into your Feed Reader.

For more information on RSS please visit these sites:

PLEASE NOTE:

If our Library does not have access to the full-text, we will obtain a copy for you via ILL (Interlibrary Loan).  Send your detailed request to library@jibc.ca.