APTN has served Indigenous Peoples in Canada and Canadian audiences for over two decades. During this time, the network has steadfastly adhered to its mission:
To share our Peoples’ journey, celebrate our culture, inspire our children and honour the wisdom of our Elders.
Contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011.
This historical span, then, allows for study of Native representation from outside and inside indigenous communities across the Americas over nearly a century. As such, it is an incomparable teaching and research tool for examining historical attitudes, representations, and understandings of indigenous populations across the Americas.
Can-Core contains a large collection of Indigenous content, along with an 'Indigenous Content' filter to help users identify videos by or about Indigenous peoples.
Designed for Canadian college and university faculty & students, CAN-CORE is your go-to destination for current and relevant Canadian video content.
Curio provides instructors and students with streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Includes documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and the specialized News in Review Channel.
To create playlists and use other personalized features of Curio, you'll need to create an account. First you need an access code. Please contact our LIBRARY to obtain this code. Then:
• Cursor over the Login button
• Fill out the short registration form and click Continue
• An activation link will be sent to you by email
NOTE: Once you sign in using your own account, cursor over My Curio, then click on My Profile. Please ensure that all age groups are selected under "Authorized age groups" so that you can search (while in your own account) the complete collection.
NOT discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.
IsumaTV is a collaborative multimedia platform for indigenous filmmakers and media organizations.
The collective platform currently carries over 7800 videos, and thousands of other images and audio files, in 70 different languages, on 800+ user-controlled channels, representing cultures and media organizations from Canada, U.S.A., Greenland, Norway, Sweden, Russia, Australia, New Zealand and all over Latin America.
Kanopy is an "on-demand" streaming video service for educational institutions. JIBC will purchase Kanopy videos once a film has been accessed four times for greater than 30 seconds. This indicates that the video is "in demand" and therefore warrants purchase. The video will then be licensed for JIBC users for one-year from date of purchase.
The National Film Board (NFB) site provides access to an online collection of over 2,500 Canadian films, including, documentaries, animations, and alternative dramas which can be shown in the classroom.
The JIBC Library’s educational license with NFB provides access to additional CAMPUS titles. To access all the resources available, create a free personal account (click "more" below) that provides additional access to:
- Educational Playlists (Diversity & Inclusion, Indigenous Voices & Reconciliation, Mental Health & Wellbeing, etc.),
- NFB’s study guides, and
- The ability to create your own playlists (choose when to Start and End your Chapter, add notes, and present your selections to the class).
To create you own account:
Step 1: Contact JIBC Library (604-528-5599 or library@jibc.ca) to request the "token" NFB link.
Step 2: Upon receipt of the "token" link, create an NFB account.
Step 3: Sign in then follow the left-hand side-bar for instructions on creating Playlists, etc.
Step 4: For more information visit the User Guide
Discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.
