LibGuides: Paramedic: Top Resources

PCP Research Videos

Library for PCP Students (Video)

Library Research Videos

Library Database Search (Video)

Library Catalogue Search (Video)

PICO Searches

Documentation from EBSCO

7 steps to the perfect PICO search

What is a PICO process?

Browse Books by Subject

Browse the Library's print and audiovisual collection by subject.

Icon Legend

Explanations for the icons beside database links.
Icon	Explanation
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet
	eBook

Top Resources

Medical books, articles, and research:

Access Medicine

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 80 medical titles such as ...
- Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
- Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
- Hurst's the Heart
- Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence Based Guide
- Tintinalli's
Create a free MyAccess account for enhanced features such as Study Tools, Cases and more!

Access Medicine - Create an Account
This will give you access to even more of Access Medicine!

DynaMed

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool written by a world-class team of physicians who consistently and systematically identify, select, evaluate, summarize, and synthesize the best available evidence.
The DynaMed editorial leadership team includes physicians with a wide range of specialties, including infectious diseases, paediatrics, internal medicine, neurology, and critical care.
Includes:
- Access to over 10,000 graphics and images
- Concise and actionable overviews and detailed recommendations
- Precise search and discoverability results
- Robust content for more than 24 specialties
- Drug content to help diagnosis with Micromedex Clinical Knowledge Suite

DynaMed Plus app info

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
From TDS Health, STAT!Ref integrates core medical textbooks with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access the full-text of several medical textbooks:
- AAFP Conditions A to Z
- Auscultation Skills: Breath & Heart Sounds
- Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology
- Handbook of Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Imbalances
- Merck Manual Professional Version
Only five users at one time can access STAT!Ref, please LOGOUT when you have finished your session.

Watch STAT!Ref tutorials here
Stat!Ref Mobile This link opens in a new window
For your MOBILE device. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

EBSCO eBook Collection

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO eBook collection contains more than 210,000 multidisciplinary eBook titles. Includes EBSCO eBook Academic Collection and individual EBSCO eBook titles purchased by JIBC Library.
Includes Short Stories and covers subject areas such as: Criminology, Education, Fire Science, Leadership, Medical, Political Science, Social Science, and many others. This collection also includes a limited number of Audiobooks.

Visit our eBooks Subject Guide for information about downloading these books.

Visualizations:

Anatomy TV (includes Anatomy & Physiology Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive selection of dynamic, interactive modules featuring more than 6,500 highly accurate, three-dimensional anatomy models.
Modules focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems. Anatomy & Physiology includes 19 comprehensive modules on the human body, 3D anatomy and new integrated physiology content. Visit Primal Pictures Online User Guide. Now available as a mobile app on the Android Play Store or iTunes!

Review the playlist below to learn how to use various features in AnatomyTV.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
A series of 18 videos that present techniques for physical assessment.
Discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library.

Pharmacy and drug information:

CPS Full Access

CPS Full Access (formerly RxTx) This link opens in a new window
From the Canadian Pharmacists Association, includes:
• CPS: Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties
• CTC 7: Compendium of Therapeutic Choices
• CPMA 2: Compendium of Products For Minor Ailments
• CTMA 2: Compendium of Therapeutics For Minor Ailments
• Lexi Interact
• Patient handouts

To use the mobile app, please go to https://www.pharmacists.ca/function/et/register-for-cps-mobile/, enter the Organization Code: 0124533 and complete your registration with your JIBC email. Once complete, you can go to the Apple/Google Play App Store from your smartphone/tablet and search for CPS by CPhA. Once installed, enter your JIBC email address and the password created during registration.

To use the mobile app, please go to https://www.pharmacists.ca/function/et/register-for-cps-mobile/, enter the Organization Code: 0124533 and complete your registration with your JIBC email. Once complete, you can go to the Apple/Google Play App Store from your smartphone/tablet and search for CPS by CPhA. Once installed, enter your JIBC email address and the password created during registration.

More drug information, see also:

Access Medicine - linked above
Dynamed - linked above

Osmosis

Your instructors might ask you to use Osmosis for course content.

You can access Osmosis here, if you have any questions, please email acp@jibc.ca.

APA Sample Paper for Paramedic

APA Sample Paper for Paramedic
This sample paper provides specific APA citations and academic writing strategies support to the PARA 1100 Pathophysiology Interview Assignment.

Citing Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets

Example 1

Reference List

Sanci, V. (2016). Pharmacology. In R. D. Macdonald (Eds.), Nancy Caroline's emergency care in the streets (7th Canadian ed., pp. 172-213). Jones & Bartlett Learning.

In-Text

(Sanci, 2016)

Example 2

Reference List

Welsford, M. (2016). Cardiovascular emergencies. In R. D. Macdonald (Eds.), Nancy Caroline's emergency care in the streets (7th Canadian ed., pp. 1022-1035). Jones & Bartlett Learning.

In-Text

(Welsford, 2016)

Note: Each chapter in Nancy Caroline's emergency care in the streets is written by a different author. These chapters are edited into the full book by Russell D. MacDonald. Therefore, each chapter should be treated as a chapter in an edited volume and cited individually. This means if you take information from more than one chapter of Nancy Caroline's emergency care in the streets, you must include a separate citation for each individual chapter.

The chapter author can be found either at the beginning of each Section or in the Acknowledgements chapter near the beginning of the book.

Articles

Article databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 100 full-text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system.
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, this collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within MEDLINE®.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of nursing, allied health (including paramedic and pre-hospital care), consumer health, patient education information, and more.
How to Research a PICO Question Using the CINAHL Database (video)
Provides access to more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.CINAHL Complete also includes indexing for more than 5,000 journals, searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals, full text dating back to 1937, and more than 4 million records in total.
EBMR: Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medicine is a movement in health care that encourages physicians, nurses, pharmacists and allied health professionals to seek out, appraise and apply the best evidence from the medial literature when confronted with patient treatment decisions.
The EBMR database provides systematic reviews of topics, article reviews and access to definitive controlled trials. Contains 4 sources: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
NOTE: All Cochrane Systematic Reviews published from February 2013 will be available open access 12 months after publication in The Cochrane Library.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
(Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System Online) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains approximately 12 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Search using MeSH subject headings (UBC Videos)
Articles cover topics in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides access to the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database and offers the full text for more than 1,370 of those journals indexed.
Articles cover topics in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Limited full-text, no link to JIBC holdings.

A-Z Database List more databases to choose from ...

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings:

e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use:

e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH:

For example:
- First Search Box: STATISTIC* AND
- Second Search Box: POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT"

Icon Legend:
	Restricted Access All online resources denoted by this symbol are available only to JIBC students and faculty. Enter: Students: enter student number and password Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials
	Open Access
	Canadian Content
	Best Bet
	eBook

Paramedic: Top Resources

On this page: