LibGuides: Complex Trauma: Find Academic Articles

Related Guides

Mental Wellness Guide
Find books, websites, and media on mental wellness.
Substance Abuse Guide
Find articles and websites on substance abuse.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
PsycINFO
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
Social Work Reference Center
An information resource for social workers and mental health professionals.
It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, behavioral and mental health, clinical social work, end-of-life care, and diversity and equality. Social Work Reference Center is written by a respected editorial faculty that creates content using a strict evidence-based editorial policy focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of the most current clinical research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Databases that are not available through the SearchMe box:

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse.
Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families.
This site provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more.
PTSDpubs
The PILOTS database (formerly PILOTS) is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Produced by the National Center for PTSD, United States Department of Veteran Affairs, electronically available to the public. Links include PTSD Research Quarterly and Clinician's Trauma Update Online (CTU Online).

NOTE: To access the database click onSearch the PILOTS Database (mid-page).
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 228,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 187,500 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.

A-Z Database List
Explore all databases available through JIBC Library.

Canadian Newsstream
Access to the full text of more than 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Content is updated daily so researchers have timely access to new information. Access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s.Titles include historical archives from the BC Historical Newspapers Collection: The Province (back to1894), the Vancouver Sun (back to 1912) and the Times-Colonist (back to1884).

A-Z Database List
Explore all databases available through JIBC Library.

Description of database icons.
Icon	Description
	Restricted Access Resource is only available to JIBC students and faculty. You will be prompted to log in. Students: enter student number and password. Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials.
	Open Access Resource that is freely available online.
	Canadian Content Resource contains Canadian articles and data.
	Best Bet Resource is a good choice for the subject area.
	eBook Resource contains eBooks.

Search Tips

Use AND for fewer, but more precise, results. To make your search clearer, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in the advanced search feature.
- e.g. statistic AND police
Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use.
- e.g. police OR law enforcement
Use quotation marks ("...") to search for an exact phrase.
- "social media"
Use the asterisk (*) at the end of a word to find all endings.
- e.g. statistic* will find statistic, statistics, statistical, statistician, etc.