Skip to Main Content

Start Your Research

Find research strategies, tips, and advice on making the most of library resources.

News Databases

News databases allow you to search for articles from many different magazines, newspapers and journals at the same time.

You will find many of these articles through the SEARCH ME! box; however, if you wish to search article databases separately, here are the ones to get you started!

Database Search Tips

1. Use the * [asterisk] at the end of a word to find all endings: 

  • e.g. STATISTIC* will find STATISTIC, STATISTICS, STATISTICAL OR STATISTICIAN etc.

2. Use OR when you're not sure what terms to use: 

  • e.g. POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT" (Hint: OR is more)
  • use quotation marks for an exact phrase (e.g. "LAW ENFORCEMENT")

3. Use AND for fewer, but more precise, hits. For best results, use the separate search boxes and the drop-down AND in ADVANCED SEARCH: 

  • For example:
    • First Search Box:  STATISTIC* AND
    • Second Search Box:  POLICE* OR "LAW ENFORCEMENT​"
Description of database icons.
Icon Description
Yellow triangle icon with an exclamation mark in the middle

Restricted Access

Resource is only available to JIBC students and faculty. You will be prompted to log in.

  • Students: enter student number and password.
  • Faculty & Staff: enter network/desktop credentials.
Orange padlock icon that has been unlocked

Open Access

Resource that is freely available online.
Red maple leaf icon

Canadian Content

Resource contains Canadian articles and data.
Green check mark icon

Best Bet

Resource is a good choice for the subject area.
Black book icon

eBook

Resource contains eBooks.

Websites

Evaluating Websites

Anyone can publish on the internet. Always evaluate a website to make sure it is a reliable and authoritative source.

Ask yourself these questions:

Authority

  • Is the author/producer easy to identify?
  • Are the author's credentials listed?
  • Is the author's affiliation easy to determine (e.g. university, government)

Content

  • Are there errors or discrepancies on the site?
  • Is the content appropriate for your needs?
  • Is there sufficient coverage of the topic?

Currency

  • Can you find the date that the site was created?
  • Was the site updated recently?
  • Do the links on the site work?

Objectivity

  • Is the information factual or opinion?
  • Is the site trying to sell something that seems too good to be true?
  • Is the information consistent with other sources you’ve found?
  • Is the source of the information provided?

More Information