Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.
It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more. Includes:
- More than 13,800 indexed and abstracted journals
- More than 9,000 full-text journals
- Full text for more than 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
- PDF content dating back as far as 1887
- Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
- Updated daily
A free academic search engine by Google that provides citations, abstracts, and links to scholarly articles, books, and more.
Select and save 'Justice Institute of British Columbia' library options under Settings > 'Library links' to see when full-text links to articles are available through JIBC library subscriptions. Look for 'Find it @ JIBC' links in search results.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts.
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
NOT discoverable in the Search Me box through the JIBC Library
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. Indexes more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed. Includes PsycARTICLES which provides full-text access to 56 journals and 44,000 articles through seamless linking. Full-text journal coverage goes back to 1985.
PsycARTICLES delivers access to the newest findings and scholarship in peer-reviewed American Psychological Association articles.
Subjects covered include abnormal psychology, art therapy, behavioral neuroscience, educational psychology, emotion, experimental psychology, family counseling, play therapy, prevention and treatment, public policy and law, rehabilitation, and social work.
The PILOTS database (formerly PILOTS) is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Produced by the National Center for PTSD, United States Department of Veteran Affairs, electronically available to the public. Links include PTSD Research Quarterly and Clinician's Trauma Update Online (CTU Online).
NOTE: To access the database click onSearch the PILOTS Database (mid-page).
The database covers a wide range of topics pertaining to Indigenous Peoples of North America, including culture, history and daily life. This resource will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous peoples in North America.
This database is an ever-expanding work in progress. It is designed to provide Indigenous people, their legal counsel, and others working within the justice system with information that will assist in the protection of Gladue rights after a person’s conviction and prior to sentencing. In particular, this database provides researchers with information pertaining to the history of settler colonialism in the province of Saskatchewan up to c. 1990.
Open access to this website and associate database is made possible through the generosity of the Law Society of Saskatchewan, Legal Aid Saskatchewan , the Saskatchewan Ministry of Corrections and Policing, and the Community-engaged History Collaboratorium, Department of History, at the University of Saskatchewan.
A database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Anyone can use the freely available materials in the iPortal but some resources are licensed and may only be available through your own library.
Choose BROWSE BY TITLE and then scroll down to select INDIGENOUS PEOPLE: NORTH AMERICA. The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.
An information resource for social workers and mental health professionals.
It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, behavioral and mental health, clinical social work, end-of-life care, and diversity and equality. Social Work Reference Center is written by a respected editorial faculty that creates content using a strict evidence-based editorial policy focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of the most current clinical research.
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 228,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 187,500 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
